The 12 Wines of Christmas

Elle Christine
2 min readDec 31, 2020
Photo by Elena Mozhvilo on Unsplash

As a kid, I loved the advent calendars with the pieces of chocolate in them. As an adult, I wish I could have invented the one with mini bottles of wine.

What a genius idea- getting to try a variety of wines while dealing with the chaos the holiday season brings!

My friend gifted me a wine advent calendar as an early Christmas present and it surely did not disappoint. It was the “Oh, What Fun Wine Countdown Calendar” from our local Kroger.

It came with 24 187 milliliter bottles- five reds, five whites, a rosé, and a bubbly. The December 13–24 wines were a repeat of the 1–12 ones, just in a different order.

I thought it’d be fun to keep track of how the wines were and share them with you. So I wrote three words each about them and rated them on a scale from one to five (one being the worst, five being the best).

Photo by Seungwon Lee on Unsplash

December 1: Chardonnay (California): lemony, medium-bodied, smooth; 3/5

December 2: Shiraz (Southeast Australia): bold, fruity, peppery; 4/5

December 3: Pinot Grigio (Italy): citrusy, refreshing, tart; 5/5

--

--